Fandoms Against Bullying: Fifth Harmony Normani Kordei quits Twitter after being cyberbullied

In August of this year one of the members of the music group Fifth Harmony, Normani Kordei, quit Twitter for several weeks after receiving relentless online abuse.  The incident started during a Facebook live interview, when each girl from the music group was asked to say something nice about the other members of Fifth Harmony. Normani seemed to hesitate when it came to describe Camila Cabello. She said, “She is … let’s see. Camila. Very quirky. Yeah. Very quirky. Cute.” The fans interpreted Normani’s hesitation as “shade” towards Camila and began to send abusive tweets to her, many of which were racially charged. The situation became so bad that Normani had to address it on a long tweet:

Unfortunately, as she made a heartfelt post addressing the issue that was, as she described, blown way out of proportion, the hateful remarks intensified from the fans who then posted even more abusive, racially-charged tweets to Normani. Thus, Normani decided to take a step back from Twitter:

“Over the past four years of being in the public eye I’ve learned to grow a thick skin to critics and those who may not like me, I’ve never been one to deny anyone of their opinions, but over the course of this last week and especially over the last 48 hours I’ve not just been cyber bullied, I’ve been racially cyberbullied with tweets and pictures so horrific and racially charged that I can’t subject myself any longer to the hate.I am not the first black female celebrity to deal with this and I’m sure I won’t be the last. I want to take this moment to say Love goes much further than hate in this world. Hiding behind a computer and putting people down, especially for the color of their skin doesn’t make you cool, it makes you a coward!”

Normani concluded by saying:
“I have nothing but love for everyone, even my haters and I hope I can lead by example. I also want to thank Twitter for immediately jumping into action when they were alerted to the situation. I love you all!”

Camila Cabello tweeted about the incident showing support for Normani:

On September 14th, Normani chose to come back on Twitter and with the purpose to raise awareness on cyberbullying and the support available to those abused online. Indeed, Normani has become the diversity ambassador for the Cybersmile Foundation, an organization that works to end Cyberbullying and bring positivity online. As ambassador for Cybersmile, Normani has pledged to use her personal experience to help inspire others to stand up together against online abuse. She said of her new role as ambassador:
image

image

Read more about the Cybersmile Foundation here. Follow them on Twitter: @CybersmileHQ and @AskCybersmile

#1DFansStandAgainstBullying

#FandomsAgainstBullying

This entry was posted in Cyberbullying and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

